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What follows are transcripts of errata that have appeared in print. Regrettably I am not able to identify where or when these were published. However I am confident that these are official since I have owned this game since it was first published and had collected the errata as it was published.
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Errata

Far Seas

1.      Port Moresby has a point value of 2.

2.      Rule 4.1: The first Sentence should read: Each game turn is divided . . . .

3.      The Japanese turn 5 reinforcements are incorrectly marked R4 on the counters. The rules and map are correct.

4.      Rule 5.4.2.1: The Japanese cannot move into Area 30, in addition to the other areas listed. [NGW: this is an obvious misprint since the list is of areas that the Japanese CAN enter. Area 29 is on the list of areas that they CAN enter, yet it can only be entered via area 30. Also see below.]

5.      Movement: Ships can move diagonally.

 

Questions and Answers.

1.
In 4.3.9.2., it is stated that surprised British ships can not attempt to run.  In 4.4.2.1., it is stated that British ships which run can not be surprised.  Which is correct?
Answer:  Both.  4.4.2.1. is referring to a situation where a British ship has discovered a German ship and the German ship accepts combat. In that case the British ship may then decide to run.  Unlike a British ship that can attempt to surprise such a German ship (4.4.2) 4.4.2.1 is trying to make clear that a German ship can not attempt to surprise a British ship when this situation is reversed. Germans can only surprise per 4.3.9 et seq.  However, any ship that is surprised cannot attempt to run.

 

2.
Rule 4.5.4. states that any ship which has not previously attempted to run may attempt to run after any combat round.  Does this mean that a particular ship or group of ships may only have one chance to run during combat?

Answer:  Yes.  You can choose to run before combat or accept combat.  If you accept combat, you can change your mind after any combat round and attempt to run.  However, any ship that attempts to run and is caught, whether before combat or after combat, cannot attempt to run again but must fight until sunk or victorious.  This means just one running attempt, not after every round.

 

3.
Can surprised ships attempt to run during later rounds of combat?

Answer:  No.

 

4.
Since rounds are resolved at A range first, then B range, then C, can ships of C range only attempt to run before actually closing to C range?

Answer:  No, if it could survive to C range it could wait until the results of the C range combat before deciding to attempt to run, assuming it had decided to accept combat to begin with.

 

5.
Does combat between two C range ships start at C range?

Answer:  Yes

 

6.
Is C range and torpedo range the same?

Answer:  Yes and No.  C range is the maximum range at which torpedoes can be fired requiring a roll of “1” to hit. Torpedo range is within C range and allows a hit on a roll of 1-3, however, gunnery damage is assessed before the torpedo attempt and a +1 applies to the opponent’s gunnery round against a ship that advances to torpedo range.

 

7.
Do British ships suffer any penalties for being surprised?

Answer:  Other than being sunk, no.  They use gunnery and torpedoes normally.

 

8.
If a British ship goes no station in segment 1 and another British ship goes on the same station during segment 2, can a German ship that moves during segment 2 surprise the second British ship?

Answer:  No.  Ships on station guard for the turn. On segment 2 the two British ships would be guarding as a squadron, since the first ship did not move during segment 2 it cannot be surprised (4.3.9.1), therefore neither ship can be surprised.
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5.4.2.1.  is incorrect . . .  The Japanese ships CAN move into area 30.

 

[END TRANSCRIPT]
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